Darian Small Lands on Wuerffel Watch List

Fort Walton Beach, Fla. - Appalachian State University football senior defensive lineman Darian Small was tabbed to the Wuerffel Trophy Watch List on Wednesday for his service to the community and his work in the classroom. The Wuerffel Trophy, known as "College Football's Premier Award for Community Service," is presented annually by the All Sports Association in Fort Walton Beach Florida. Named after 1996 Heisman Trophy winning quarterback Danny Wuerffel from the University of Florida, the Wuerffel Trophy is awarded to the FBS player that best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement.

Small is one of a Wuerffel Trophy Watch List record 88 student-athletes from across the nation to land on the watch list and one of six student-athletes from the Sun Belt. Joining Small from the SBC are Blaise Taylor (Arkansas State), Keith Rucker (Georgia State), Karmichael Dunbar (UL Lafayette), Felix Romero (Texas State) and John Johnson (Troy).